Omaha Beach

D-Day Landings: Omaha Beach Monument  and American Cemetery, Normandy, France.

June 6th 2014 sees the seventieth anniversary of the D-Day landings.

Omaha Beach Monument

Photograph of the Omaha Beach monument on the Avenue de la Liberation, Saint-Laurent-sur-mer, France.

THE ALLIED FORCES
LANDING ON THIS
SHORE WHICH THEY CALL
OMAHA BEACH LIBERATE
EUROPE – JUNE 6,TH1944

Omaha Beach Second World War Monument to the Americans.

Omaha Beach Monument

American Cemetery

The American cemetery of Colleville-sur-mer overlooks Omaha beach.

American Second World War Cemetery, Omaha Beach, Normandy, France

The American Cemetrey at Colleville-sur-mer which overlooks Omaha Beach

5 thoughts on “Omaha Beach

  1. The American Cemetery is such a hauntingly beautiful spot. I visited there over a decade ago, and still recall the emotion I felt. I have a few photos from that long-ago trip (and very simple camera) that I’ve been thinking about posting to honor the anniversary, but hadn’t made up my mind. You helped me make that decision. Thank you for posting this.

    • I agree with you Stacy, it is a hauntingly beautiful site to visit and I still remember the emotions I felt when my parents took me there in the seventies. I re-visited in 2008 with my family, and for some reason I didn’t take that many photographs of the place without members of my family being in the foreground and them being the subject of each image.
      I had been meaning to post the few pictures I had for a while. The 70th anniversary of the D-Day Landings was the catalyst for this post.
      I’m looking forward to viewing the images you have when you make your post.

Leave a Reply

