Olympus OM30

Olympus OM30

It’s fair to say that my old Olympus OM30 film SLR camera has been gathering more than dust over the years; packed away and forgotten about in the corner of an unused drawer.

The black leather case has blistered and parts of the camera have oxidized. Mold is evident on the case and inside the lenses.

HDR image of an old case for an Olympus OM30 camera.

Olympus OM30 | Blistered Black Leather Case | HDR Image

It’s a mess. But I thought that it might make a great subject for HDR photography – warts ‘n’ all.

HDR image of an old Olympus OM30 camera.

Olympus OM30 | Olympus OM30 Film SLR and Case | HDR Image

As I re-positioned the camera for various shots, I started to familiarize myself with the controls once more.

A close-up, HDR image of an old Olympus OM30 camera.

Olympus OM30 | Olympus OM30 Film SLR | HDR Image

The Olympus failed to operate when I pressed the shutter, so I took out the four watch batteries from tha camera’s front and warmed them in my hand.

HDR image of an old Olympus OM30 camera - top view.

Olympus OM30 | Olympus OM30 Film SLR | HDR Image

With the warm batteries back in place and the camera’s command dial set to AUTO, the light metering system burst into life. I  focused the 50mm lens on an object and depressed the shutter release. The  Olympus OM30 shutter operated perfectly, having been dormant for a good twelve years.

HDR image of an old Olympus OM30 camera and lenses.

Olympus OM30 | Olympus OM30 Film SLR and Various Lenses | HDR Image

In my haste to inspect the film chamber, I opened the back of the camera only to find a part-used roll of film inside. Grrr…

A Tamron lens for an Olympus OM30 camera.

Olympus OM30 | Tamron 70mm – 200mm Telephoto Lens For Olympus OM30 SLR | HDR Image

Now where did I put my camera cleaning kit?

HDR Images Taken with a tripod-mounted Nikon D5100; a Nikkor 55mm-300mm lens and a remote shutter release. Exposures 0.0EV ±2.0EV. Images merged with HDR Efex Pro 2.

High resolution HDR images of Olympus OM30 here.

Leave a Reply

